Skip to content

“Wait. What?!” Wednesdays.

March 5, 2008

Over the last 4 weeks 3 days and 12 hours (not that I’m counting), I’ve observed many peculiar things.  I’ve remembered to document a few of these oddities, but the rest… well, the moment I plug in the internet I forget to write them up in lieu of of replying to emails, checking facebook and reading online newspapers. (oh, and work. i do a bit of that too.)

In light of this inherent absentmindedness, I thought I would designate Wednesdays as a day when I will record the ‘Wait. What did I just see/hear/smell/taste/touch/[insert any other sense]?!’ moments I experience.  I figure if I don’t set aside a certain time to write these things down I will forget about them and then have absolutely nothing to say when people ask, “SO. You moved to Brussels, huh? What’s that like? See anything interesting.” Me? At a loss for words. That would be tragic. 

Wait. What?! #1: Office Birthdays

Remember birthdays when you were in grade school? Provided your birthday fell during the school year, you would plan out what you would bring in for the class days or weeks in advance?

(or, if you were like my family, this was the conversation the night before:) 

Me: “Suzy’s mom made the entire class individual cookies with her name on each one. How about you make individual cakes with my name on each one?”
Mom: “Giant Eagle makes lovely chocolate chip cookies. We’ll pick up two dozen on the way to school tomorrow.”

Fast forward to the business world and it’s a 180. You don’t bring in anything. Either nothing is done to celebrate your special day, you celebrate it on a Friday in your birthday month with everyone else that was born that month or your coworkers will bring in a cake especially for you. I always thought this was a fine tradition.  

Until I moved here.

In Belgium, grade school rules apply. YOU bring in the treats for the entire group. But, since this is the land of fine desserts, Giant Eagle level cookies (although fabulous) will not suffice. Today was one of the Dutch guys’ birthdays (thus how I learned of this tradition). He brought in 3 dozen fancy cookies from this great Patisserie in Brussels, made a sign that said “[Name]’s Birthday. Please Take Some” and put it on his desk.  All day long people stopped in and out, wished him happy birthday and helped themselves to some treats. 

It was fabulous. I fully intend to bring this tradition back home.

Now if only I could get them to go really old school and institute ‘nap time’…

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 5, 2008 3:14 pm

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

Leave a Reply

