Skip to content

Wait! What?! -on Friday but let’s pretend it’s Wednesday

March 14, 2008

Because I certainly have no idea what day it is. Or month. Or time. Or year.

It’s my 13th straight day in the office. So my work-rhythms say it’s next Wednesday.

You know how a blizzard just tore through Cleveland? Here it was in the mid-50s and partly sunny. Even had cute little purple flowers popping up in the backyard and along the streets of Leuven. So I feel like it should be April.

There is no such thing as ‘daylight savings time’ in Belgium. We didn’t gain an hour, lose an hour, steal an hour, borrow an hour. They all stayed put. Which means my watch (which I’m keeping on Pittsburgh Time) is now only 5 hours off instead of 6. I think.

Today was the fifth consecutive weekday that I’ve seen Boyfriend. That hasn’t happened since… um… spring of my Senior year?

As such, I’m rather shocked that it’s not noon on Wednesday, April 15th, 2006.

Regardless.  (apparently) two days late, here’s my “Wait? What?” moment of the week…

On the Radio

Radio in Belgium. It’s definitely not what expected. Fantastic indie music on every other station? Lots of ‘international’ music – i.e. great songs in French or Dutch or German (anything but English)? At least one station in English – maybe BBC One?

Not. So. Much.

Half the stations are in Dutch, 1/3 are in French and then you’ve got a few randoms – like an Arabic station, a German station and one that doesn’t show any call letters, just a Star of David.

One would think that this variety of formats would translate into an equally wide variety of songs being broadcast.  No. Aside from the standard ‘Oldies,’ ‘Classical’ and ‘Listen to me scream really loudly’ stations, the other 10 play the exact same songs. Every morning, I guarantee that I will hear the following songs not once, but twice. When the world REALLY hates me and makes me sit in traffic for an hour and 45 nminutes on the way to work, I will hear each of these 3 times:

– “Bubbly” by Colbie Callait (you know the one, it starts in her nose then it tingles her toes. cute bubblegum pop the first 10 times. by the 100th, you want to give her a ‘tingle’ upside the head) 

– “Big Girl (You Are Beautiful)” by Mika. (loved this song the first 500 times. now I hear it and feel the urge to exercise.)

– “Uninvited” remixed by the Freemasons (i’m sure this is great at a club. but. techno at 7:30am AND at 8:30am is wrong. alanis turned into techno? beyond wrong.)

See what I mean:

The Mika song (it’s okay to like this one the first few times):

Okay. So I take issue with the 90% of the playlists on nearly every station.  Not all that surprising since I had the same problem at home. No, what REALLY got me was what I heard on the radio this morning:

The last few notes of ‘Bubbly’ were being played when the DJ started talking. It went like this: “Dutch words, Dutch words, Dutch words, AMERICAN, Dutch words, Clinton, Obama, Dutch words.”

Then. In English: “This is Condoleeza Rice, you Belgians are much thinner than Americans. This is because, unlike us, you are a backwards, poor and undeveloped country.”

Then, Mika’s, “Big Girl” started playing.

Wait? What??!

I don’t even know what to do with that.

Ugh. I think I’m going to make some cds this weekend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 26, 2008 3:49 pm

    ‘Daylight savings time’ does exist in Belgium, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daylight_saving_time_around_the_world#In_general

    To be exact: next weekend you will loose one hour of sleep 🙂 If you don’t believe it: ask your coworkers about ‘zomeruur’.

Leave a Reply

