Skip to content

One Brilliant X… um. i don’t know any appropriate “X” words.

July 30, 2009

Thought I’d share a few highlights of our brilliant vacation in the OBX for… ya know… posterity’s sake and whatnot. I know, I know, you’re thinking “She’s still on about this trip? To North Carolina? Snoooz.” Well, trip documenting is why I started this site in the first place so I might as well do that. Besides, there are some downright adorable pictures of Baby that I have to share SOMEWHERE.

The whole thing started with a whirlwind 20 or so hours in and around HOME. Where I was shown the latest addition to the backyard by this little frutz:

From Starred Photos

We toured her house, played with chalk and went up and down the slide. It was awesome.
Fun times were had by all. See?

From Starred Photos

Then, one of my wonderful friends from Case drove a million miles (or whatever the distance is between Pittsburgh & Cleveland) which made for an absolutely perfect afternoon of shopping and chatting and lettuce wraps at Cheesecake Factory. She really should just move to Belgium – it would make my life SO much easier. I don’t know anyone else who will go to 47 different dress stores with me and try on the most hideously amazing electric blue, skintight, 80s prom mermaid cocktail dresses.Yes, those exist. Go to the Nordstrom’s in Ross Park Mall if you don’t believe me.

Sadly, she had important things to do and people to see so we parted. Fortunately, before I had a chance to mope about her absence, Big Sister (who, through a series of Unfortunate Events was unable to join us on vacation) arrived! She  informed us all of the exciting happenings in her household, Grove City, the world of nursing, her phd program (I’m so jealous of her) and the relative merits of Sheetz lowfat frozen espresso drinks vs. Sbux (sheetz wins).

Finally, as perfect cap to the day, I met up with a friend from Pittsburgh at Bar Louie in Cranberry (not a bad spot. good job cranberry!). As usual, we discussed life, the universe and everything and just when we were getting to the really good stuff – like solving world hunger and how to deal with our boyfriends – the parents called and [flashback to being a teenage] informed me that I had to get home. Now. The car was leaving… for the beach!

Which meant 10 (11? 12?) hours in the car with these four:

Kels, Baby, Dave, Mike

Time flew pretty quickly. And before you could sing the Backyardigans theme song a 51st time, we had arrived:

Ours was the one on the right. Suuhweeeet.

Over the next 7 days, we did a variety of wonderful things that I alluded to in a previous post. Now, I know these things sounded too absurdly awesome to be true (ha) but here is proof of the spectaular-ness:

Remember how I said that a kayak was rented? Well one was. And just about everyone had a ride (or 7) in it throughout the week. Although everyone else will probably remember its seminal voyage in which Mike & Drew paddled until they were a dot on the horizon and their parents had heart attacks, my favorite trip was the one taken by Mike & Kelsey.

It started out well enough:

And then things got a little rough:

From Starred Photos

And a little rougher:

From Starred Photos

And then…. wipeout!

Fortunately they are tough little idiots and recovered well enough:

Another highlight was a SURPRISE(!) wedding shower for Kelsalump.

The brainchild and pet project of the consummate wedding planner, Miss Becca (contact me if you would like to use her services…), it was a success all around:

(Bride on the left, Becca on the right)


Ladies at the shower. (Can’t tell you how happy I was to be able to attend! Thought I would miss it being stuck in Europe and all.)


Men at the shower. Appropriate, no?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

