Skip to content

SMALL WORLD

August 20, 2009

SO.

I’m walking through the Philly airport this afternoon(? evening? After an 8 hour flight, I have no idea what time it is, I just know it’s light outside) and I’m looking at my connecting flight to Pittsburgh and I realize I have a 4 hour layover. FOUR hours. Gag.

So I check the departures board and even though I know I have ZERO chance of getting standby on one of the earlier flights I make the 20 minute walk over to the 6:30 Pittsburgh flight and inquire about the possibility of a miracle spot. I failed but it was okay. The area was pretty empty so I booted up my computer and called home over VOIP. Then I checked email, made sure nothing blew up at work and decided to go look for a coffee.

And who should I see sitting at a table but… TARA! My best friend since 8th grade! The person I had been about to call after my parents but figured she’d still be at work so no sense in bothering her. And there she was! We had been trying to meet up since Christmas but our schedules always conflicted.

We did the girl scream and freaked out her coworkers and had a generally wonderful catch up in the 15 minutes she had to spare before catching her flight (which was also full. boo.) and made plans to meet up later tonight or this weekend before I head back…

How does that happen???

Best layover ever 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tara McPheron permalink
    August 21, 2009 10:52 pm

    Absolutely the best layover ever! I’m still in shock that I ran into you at the Philadelphia airport 🙂 It was so awesome to see you!! Give me a call on Sunday if you want to hang out. I’ll definitely be around.

    ~T

Leave a Reply

