Skip to content

Put A Smile On Your Face: Lisa Hannigan

September 4, 2009

Geeeez. Is it really Friday? Are you sure? My calendar says its so but during busy season days are fluid. More of a suggestion than a convention held to by the majority of the globe. Tuesday went faster than cake in my kitchen while Thursday took three weeks.  I worked last Saturday & Sunday and will be putting in a good 20-25 hours this weekend. So what IS today?

[Note 1: Can you even call it a weekend if the week never ends?]

Either way, I’m a bit on the sleep deprived/stressed side and have been grasping for moments that quietly scream “Calm!” (they exist, I swear.) For things that are just plain pretty. And chock full of creativity. And smile inducing.

Essentially, things that embody everything my job is not.

[Note 2: I know “things” is a terribly vague filler word for those with a limited vocabulary. but. I’m running on 4 hours of sleep AND there are any number of objects, places, events, shows and songs that could fit the bill. So “things” will have to do.]

Lo and behold, over lunch I was listening to my favoritest station in the world, Pittsburgh’s own 91.3 WYEP.org over lunch and who would come on but Lisa Hannigan, an amazing Irish singer I forgot I loved.

Her song “I Don’t Know” was everything I was looking for at the moment. Calming. Fun. Pretty. SUPER creative.

It puts a smile on my face. Hope it does for you too.

Happy Friday! (Or Tuesday. Or Thursday. Whatever.)

Most smile worthy parts:

-How she sort of bops her head along to the song and smiles while working & singing. This is exactly what I look like at my desk. Minus the singing and the smiling. But the bopping? I’m all over the bopping.

– The final product is just amazing. How did they transform a room with just scissors, paper, paint and friends? I’ll try and put those elements together in the future. I’m sure we’ll come up with something similar. Definitely.

(I also like this one lots and lots):

Note 3: Dad. this is total chick music. no need to click. stay tuned for the next post. includes pics of the Mini all banged up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 2:24 pm

    You’re going to work up to 25 hours this weekend? I know it’s completely none of my business but in my humble opinion, that’s not a healthy situation…

  2. brittspencer permalink*
    September 4, 2009 2:34 pm

    haha thanks! It’s okay though, I have trips to Barcelona & London & Paris planned for later in September & October so it all evens out… 🙂

    also, in reply to your comment on a wedding week… that is an excellent idea! we are seeing what we can do to make that happen!

    thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

