Skip to content

Wedding Planning: Proof of WHAT?

January 9, 2010

Yes, I know I am a terrible updater. Yes, I know I break every resolution/promise/assurance that I will do this writing thing daily/weekly/monthly. Yes, I realize that I am wholly undependable.

My deepest apologies for this unfortunate shortcoming of mine.

Now that we have that out of the way, let’s move on.

Many, many exciting things have transpired over the past month and a half.

We went to a few Christmas markets in Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany. BF and I ice skated – well, he skated… i fell. Lots.  I got horribly, deathly (except not really) ill while all alone in the apartment with only powdered “minute soup” to eat. We went Home for the holidays(!) and, during the short time there, logged 1,000+ miles in the car (really) so that we could attend no less than 6 Christmases, 1 Steelers game, 1 Cavaliers game, the fantastic wedding of my amazing Big “sister” (in the sorority sense) AND the most magnificent event ever – the wedding of my stunning “little” sister (in the biological sense).

Now, not surprisingly, in the midst of all this fabulous Christmas-ing and wedding attending, the question directed to BF & I time and time again was… “SO. How is your wedding planning going?”

“Umm… what wedding?” or “It’s not.”

… was NOT our response!  Yes, I know. I’m shocked too. But it’s true. It really is. The wedding planning has been moving along quite nicely if I do say so myself. We have a PLANNER we love, a venue we absolutely adore and….. brace yourself….

A DATE!! (which – bonus – has familial significance! score 2 pts for us.)

I will do my best to provide further details within a reasonable time frame (ha! you’ve heard that before, haven’t you?) but for now, I thought I’d leave you with perhaps the most amusing/frustrating angle (to date) of our Belgian Wedding odyssey:

We have to provide Proof of (Non)Marriage.

Right. BF and I have to prove to the Belgian government that neither of us are currently married. As if BF was secretly a polygamist with a bevy of wives hidden in our 2 bedroom apartment or perhaps a tent in the neighborhood playground? Reallly??? Like someone else could get him down the aisle in under 6.5 years of dating. HA!

[note: the wedding planner explained to us that this is a relatively new law that was necessitated by various immigrants coming to Belgium and then marrying Belgians to obtain the coveted Belgian citizenship. All while failing to mention that they had wife(ves) in their home country. if this is true, I completely understand the requirement. if not, BOOOO Belgium. BOOOO you and your senseless, endless, impossible to obtain paperwork.]

Anyways. Every time someone inquired about the progress of our planning we shared this little gem of Belgian bureaucracy and asked if they had any advice. Oh boy, did they.

Student Friend: “Call a lawyer.”

Lawyer Friend: “Call the courthouse.”

Court Clerk Friend: “Call your mom.”

Mom: “Have them call me.”

At this point, we’re all on hold.

Stay tuned for the further adventures of a [wannabe] Belgian Bride…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 8:03 am

    2 Belgian friends of us live in the Netherlands. They are not married but were getting children. So the man had to acknowledge the baby as being his child. In order to do so, he also had to proof he was not married to his girlfriend. They also were quite puzzled by that.

    I think they went to the Belgian embassy in the Netherlands and asked for a statement that declares the Belgian government is not aware of a wedding/marital status or so. (because if you are getting married…it is recorded on your civil records somewhere).

    So…can’t the embassy help?

  2. sister1 permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:21 pm

    How about your US TAX return… that declares you both single.

  3. brittspencer permalink*
    January 11, 2010 11:36 am

    @Goofball – thanks so much for the advice!! I hadn’t thought to check the American embassy. Hopefully they’ll be able to help (or at least point us in the right direction…).

    @Sister1 – haha “sister1”? I love it. Anyways, yeah, we have copies of our US Tax returns. And hopefully they will do the trick. But. A certain percentage of people lie about being married on them (for various business related reasons) so we aren’t sure if they will suffice. Obviously I will keep you updated 🙂

  4. January 13, 2010 5:07 am

    The site of the embassy isn’t very helpful: http://belgium.usembassy.gov/marriage-in-belgium.html
    The state of Wisconsin has some request form online: http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F0/F05260.pdf Maybe there’s also something like this for Pennsylvania?

  5. brittspencer permalink*
    January 13, 2010 4:32 pm

    Dries! Thanks so much for the advice/link! I am looking into it right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

