Skip to content

Hysterical!

July 20, 2010

(Part 3 of the “Wedding and Other Happy Disasters” series…)

Quick review. For me. Because after weeks (months?) of wedding planning fun followed by visitor fun followed by actual wedding fun followed by festival fun followed by more visitor fun with some [opposite of fun] work sprinkled in between, I have absolutely lost my mind.

How lost, you ask?

I tried to brush my teeth with a razor this morning. Right. Put toothpaste on it and everything. Fortunately, I do a cheshire cat grin while brushing so the blade hit my front teeth and I realized my [space cadet] mistake before serious damage was done. I mean, can you imagine trying to explain injuries resulting from shaving your gums to a doctor? In Flemish? Or French? Yeah.

So. Review. I told you about the birth certificates? And the passport?

I guess that means we have reached the priest & church complications.

Ooof. Frankly, I’m not sure how to relate this part of our wedding planning fairytale without sounding like an irresponsible whiner. Or worse, an unbelievable irresponsible whiner. I mean, after everything else that happened, this just begs the question, “Seriously?? You guys. Seriously??”

Sooo. I’ll make it as short and sweet as possible. It went like this:

Between December of 2009 and March of 2010 we were accepted and then rejected from our two favorite churches in Leuven because we weren’t enough affiliated with KUL (Catholic University of Leuven – aka the people that own the churches) for the second and third persons who reviewed our file.

Sint Jan de Doper Church in the Groot Begijnhof. aka the first church that rejected us.

Sint Lambertus kapel, Heverlee. The 2nd church that rejected us. Can't quite tell from this picture, but when the trees are full of green leaves it is simply breathtaking.

So, in April(ish) we found a new church and a new priest and we were all sorts of happy because both were AMAZING. Until May. When our wonderful, accepting priest cancelled.

Right.

Less than 2 months before the wedding our priest canceled on us.

Several phone calls, loads of emails and 2 more meetings with 2 different priests later, we signed all the necessary documentation for a church ceremony on……

The WINNER! Sint Kwinten, Leuven.

June 15th.

Yup. 3 days before the wedding. THREE.

Now pause for a moment and imagine the kind of stress and fighting this incited between boyfriend and me.

Did you picture epic screaming matches? Glassware chucked about the apartment? Finger pointing? Name calling? Condescending looks?

I would understand if you did. But you would be ever so wrong.

Instead, we laughed. And then laughed some more.

We can’t get married in the historic church a stone’s throw from the reception site? Hilarious!

You suddenly have an important, can’t-miss appointment on June 18? Too funny!

All of the English-speaking priests in Leuven are taking exams on June 18? You crack me up!

Oh, so you DON’T do rehearsals? And this is your first English wedding since 1983? HYSTERICAL!

Ha. Ah well. In the end, the only thing that really matters is that I found someone to laugh with

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 7:15 am

    I’ve never been at that Lambertus chapel in Heverlee. Where is it?
    Is it owned by the KUL too?
    Despite our wedding in the Faculty Club I never tried to get married in the Begijnhofchurch knowing that I’m not a KUL alumni. We married in our parish , the park Abbey. There’s a relatively young open-minded priest there.

    Gosh I can’t believe you had to go through so much stress. I think I would have called off the wedding by then :p

    • brittspencer permalink*
      July 27, 2010 1:29 pm

      Hmm… how to get to Lambertus Chapel? I found it while bike riding through the park near Arenberg castle so I’m not sure how to describe the directions properly. If you take Kardinaal Mercierlaan from Leuven out towards Arenberg you will find it on the right. Just before the castle. It’s sort of tucked up on a little rise and surrounded by trees. I recommend visiting it while the leaves are still full, flowers are in bloom and the weather is still nice (other than today of course…). It’s breathtaking.

      Also, the chapel is owned by KUL. We only tried to get married there or at the Begijnhofchurch because my husband’s work has really close ties to the University and his boss said he “knew someone” that would get us in. That friend did help us, but unfortunately, we found out quite a bit later that THAT person’s boss wasn’t so keen on us get married there. Ah well.

      I just looked at your pictures and saw where you got married – we actually spoke with your priest (I think!). He was AMAZING! Absolutely fantastic. He actually made us want to attend mass at your church every week and if it weren’t for the language barrier we probably would. Unfortunately, he ended up not being available on our date.

      as for calling it all off, we thought about it a few times but then our families booked their flights so there was no backing out!

Leave a Reply

