Skip to content

Plane Tickets:The New Antidepressant

September 30, 2010

Guess who has tickets to Pittsburgh for Oct. 14-19??? THIS GIRL. RIGHT HERE. ME!

And, with this happy development, I finally feel up to writing a post. Kind of an odd thing to say, I know, but July, August & September were kind of weird around here.

It’s not that Belgium was weird (well, weirder than usual I should say), it’s that things just felt… off. And not “expat, fish-out-of-water” off. That sensation has mostly evaporated in the 2 and 3/4 YEARS I have been living here. No, it was more akin to the crash after a sugar rush.

You see, March-May were basically nonstop wedding/adventure planning. In addition to the 2 ceremonies + reception, we organized trips to Venice, Rome, Paris (x5), Amsterdam, Bruges, Antwerp and consulted on a trip to Prague. It was awesome. In June, all of the planning was followed by the crazy excitement of the wedding and wonderfulness of spending close to an entire month with our families.

Not to be a broken record, but it was awesome. And magical. And more…. just more than we could have ever dreamed was possible.

And then it was over.

And the families went home.

And it was just BF & I in our apartment. In Belgium.

And our families were back in the U.S.

And I fell into a funk. Gorgeous 90 degree weather in Belgium & a free weekend without work? I sat on the couch and pouted.

Not that we didn’t do fun things, because we did.

We had a getaway in Mechelen.

We went to two fantastic weddings.

We camped out for a music festival with friends.

And had visits from the amazing Ms. Meaghen

And in the middle of those things, I smiled and laughed and had a generally wonderful time. But the minute they were over, I started being a sad Sally again.

It was really irritating. For all parties involved. Including me.

So, with fall (read: literal gloom in the form of more grey skies & rain than Pittsburgh without the tempering effects of Football) in full force, I finagled my way into a ticket for a quick trip home.

And now, when I look out the window at the soupy grey weather, I actually smile. Big, silly grins at nothing in particular. Much more my style.

It’s amazing what an email confirmation for a roundtrip ticket to the Steel City can do.

At work, I

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathleen Spencer permalink
    October 2, 2010 9:01 pm

    The confirmation email detailing your itinerary for your trip home, lifted me out of a blue funk as well. Turns out they are not indigenous to Belgium…just what happens when you miss your loved one. Hurry home, dearest daughter….and get your hubby to find a job closer to me!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

