Skip to content

wherein i resolve to not make resolutions

January 14, 2011

Over the last 14 days, everyone & their brother has been making NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS. Their bolding. Not minee.

Given that I am utterly incapable of following through with anything, much less such lofty things as resolutions, I hereby announce that I will NOT be resolving anything this year. Nothing. Nada. Zilch. And I most certainly will not be resolving to do the following in 2011:

1 – Post everyday. Take a look at the last time I posted. Right. I think we can all agree this is obvious.

2 – Run and/or engage in other exhausting forms of exercising on days when it’s raining. If you are familiar with the climate in Belgium you will know that I may or may not have just given myself a free pass to be lazy for, oh, I don’t know, 6 months of the year…

3 – Losing a worthwhile amount of weight. Do you have any idea how expensive pants are? I snagged two perfect pairs of wool work pants while I was home and they juuuust fit. As long as I don’t breathe while walking. I’m considering losing a pinch or two around the middle so that I don’t pass out due to asphyxiation. But that’s about it. It’s not that I’m lazy.  I just care more about the size of my wallet than my waistline. Yup.

4 – Stop reading ridiculous books. These awesome ppl I know got me a Kindle for Christmas and I fear I may be developing an obsession. I’ve become something of a ebook stalker. You see, I check Amazon Kindle store for free books. And 99 cent sales. “Limited Time Promotional Offers” ebooks. And. If it looks even a little bit interesting ala a shapeshifting detective who has psychokinetic powers, all of a sudden my cursor is drifting over to “Buy Now with with 1-Click” and I’m clicking. Against my will. Anyways. My point is that although there are hundreds of classics available for the Kindle, I highly doubt I will find myself buying The Odyssey while on autopilot. But you better believe I will read “A Game of Thrones” and its sequels. Right.

Next War & Peace, I swear.

5 – Become fluent in French or Flemish. Or Dutch, German, Swiss-German, Spanish, Portugese, Nepali, Bulgarian and Swahili. In fact, I may become less fluent in English.

6 – Stop gushing about my amazing family, friends, Home [Pittsburgh] and home [Leuven]. Or posting random pictures of these aforementioned amazing things.

Example:

I mean, really, who doesn’t want to see this cutey patootey? Even if she’s getting unacceptably big.

 

That’s all I can (not) commit to right now.

I’m fairly certain that the rest of 2011 is going to be one big surprise. Full of it’s fair share of contradictions and broken promises and small kindnesses. Belly cramping laughs and full body cries. Ambitious travel and trips around the corner.

Maybe. Just maybe I’ll do better than 2008, 2009 and 2010 and actualy, you know, document some of that here… in this blog that was started for just those sort of things.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

